Professors provide one-on-one mentoring outside the classroom at Southern Wesleyan University

The faith-filled community at SWU is comprised of students, faculty and staff who are passionate about learning and growing, both inside and outside of the classroom.

Fine Arts Events at SWU

Whether you come for a campus visit, fine arts program, or athletic event, SWU seeks to provide educational and cultural opportunities not just to our campus community but to the greater community around us.


SCICU Member Institutions Sign Partnership Agreement with SC Technical College System

    04.13.18 | Academics

    Seventeen (17) SCICU member colleges and universities and the SC Technical College System (SCTCS) have signed a memorandum of understanding designed to increase access and enhance the seamless transfer of students and graduates from the 16 technical colleges in South Carolina to participating private nonprofit colleges and universities in the state.

    Participating SCICU colleges and universities include Allen University, Anderson University, Benedict College, Charleston Southern University, Claflin University, Coker College, Columbia College, Columbia International University, Converse College, Erskine College, Limestone College, Morris College, Newberry College, North Greenville University, Southern Wesleyan University, Spartanburg Methodist College and Voorhees College.

    SCTCS and participating SCICU colleges and universities will closely examine and enhance transfer functions to expand and encourage access for students who complete an associate in arts or an associate science degree at one of the state’s 16 technical colleges. The agreement is designed to provide a clearly defined path to graduation and reduce the cost of obtaining a degree.

    “This partnership creates a tremendous opportunity for more students to have access to baccalaureate education,” says Mike LeFever, President and CEO of SC Independent Colleges and Universities (SCICU). ” Students can begin their educational journey at one of the 16 technical colleges across the state, and then transfer seamlessly to one of our participating private nonprofit college and universities. This provides an accessible path forward for individuals who wish to attain a bachelor’s degree. The partnership works to build the educated workforce we need for stronger communities and a stronger economy.”

    “Affordability and accessibility are the foundation blocks of the SC Technical College System,” says Dr. Tim Hardee, president for the SC Technical College System. “We are the entry point into higher education for the majority of South Carolinians. This agreement with the state’s private nonprofit colleges and universities opens up new doors and provides more options for our students to achieve their educational and career goals.”

    Once implemented, the program will aid students in making a more seamless transfer between institutions. It will help reduce lost time to graduation and relieve some of the added financial burden now associated with transferring. Students who have completed an associate of arts or associate of science degree program at a South Carolina technical college with an agreed-upon cumulative grade-point average will enter a participating SCICU college or university with junior standing. All transfer courses will be accepted and applied to the attainment of the degree appropriate to the student’s major.

    This news release was provided by SCICU and SCTCS.